video calls availableFree Consultation

Insurance Bad Faith

Request Free Consultation

Recent Verdict Update

Posted September 7, 2022
After a five day jury trial, Haffner & Morgan, LLP obtained a $101,000.00 verdict in an insurance bad faith trial against State Farm Insurance. The jury agreed that our client’s homeowner’s insurance claim was improperly denied and handled in bad faith by State Farm. After attorney’s fees and expert costs, which State Farm now...
read more

A Basic Guide to an Examination Under Oath

Posted December 6, 2021
If you’re looking up information for examinations under oath, you’ve likely been asked by your insurance company to take one. Let us first say that this is a common step in the claims process when you are making a claim through your own insurance company. Having said that, it’s not unusual for you to...
read more

Insurance Policy Limits

INSURANCE LIMITS AND WHAT THEY MEAN If you are like most people, the numbers on your auto insurance declarations page are not going to make much sense. Many people just want to know how much coverage they have if they cause damage to someone else’s car or how much coverage they have if they...
read more

Statute of Limitations

Posted July 8, 2021
What is a statute of limitations and why does it matter? If you are involved in an accident or you are a victim of insurance bad faith, one of the first questions you need answered is how long you have before you have to file a lawsuit.  This is generally called the statute of...
read more

What is Med-Pay or Medical Payments Coverage?

Posted December 5, 2020
What is Med-Pay? When you purchase automobile insurance you have the option to include medical payments coverage or “Med-Pay” to your policy. Often times you have the option to choose how much Med-Pay you want to add to your policy, frequently ranging from $1,000.00 upwards of $10,000.00 depending on the insurance company.  The purpose...
read more

What Happens if a Defendant Doesn’t Have Insurance or Has a Minimal Policy?

Posted December 4, 2020
In California, the minimum requirements for automobile liability insurance are $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident.  This means that in many cases you may only be able to recover a maximum of $15,000 from a defendant’s automobile liability insurance.  Some Californians also may qualify for California’s Low Cost Auto Insurance program which means that they...
read more